Ballet

I recently got some books from the library about ballet history. After hearing comments about Swetnam’s fencing stance resembling a ballet stance, I thought I would investigate.

I know nothing about ballet, so I started online. I found mentioned several times a connection between fencing and ballet. More specifically, it was said that the first ballets were based on the motions and stances of fencing (certainly early ballet was for men, not women).

Not being very reputable sources, I went by the library. I intend to only review the first few chapters of each book (as well as the bibliographies), but I hope that I can track down some kind of connection, even if it is not a causal one.

I was hoping to look at both cultural and martial influences on Swetnam’s fencing stances, but thus far I have found next to nothing on the cultural side.

Published in: on January 8, 2009 at 9:50 pm  Leave a Comment  
Tags: , , , ,

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://josephswetnam.wordpress.com/2009/01/08/ballet/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

